FlyerTalk Forums - View Single Post - Reliant or Energy Plus AA and UA offers (CT, MD, NJ, NY, PA and TX) [Consolidated]
Old Apr 30, 2012, 9:55 am
MissMiles

Programs: AA, KLM, United, Amex, Chase, Hilton
Just a word of warning to you guys about EnergyPlus. I signed up for this promo last year, and before I did I called to ask if their rates are different than ConEd. They said the rates are variable and said they can fluctuate. But they kind of alluded to their rates not being too far off from ConEd. I’m a young professional working in finance, living in NYC and manage all my finances and bills well so I figured I would give them a try and if anything is fishy I would cancel. So I signed up, got my miles and just paid my bills as normal. As the summer came up, my electric bills went up but I didn't think anything of it since I live in an apt in NYC and know that rates go up in the summer due to AC use. In the winter though, my rates were unusually high, so I became suspicious. And lo and behold, I found that what EnergyPlus was charging me was significantly higher than ConEd. I put together a spreadsheet starting from the first month (Feb 2011) that I joined EnergyPlus, which I compared the rates between EnergyPlus and ConEd.